ICONO'5 logo

5th International Conference on Organic Nonlinear Optics

March 12-16, 2000, Davos, Switzerland


ONO 2000 Tutorial

Subscribe to mailing list

First Circular

Second Circular

Final Circular

Extended Abstracts

Abstract Submission


Icono5 Secretariat

Contact Icono5

Organising Committees

Conference Scope


Conference Location
About Davos

First Circular

PDF Version

Optical wave manipulation is one of the future technologies for optical processing and communication. Organic nonlinear optical materials are thought to have a key role in those technologies, and a lot of effort to develop new molecules/materials as well as fundamental understanding is under way throughout the world.

The first International Conference on Organic Nonlinear Optics (ICONO’1, with Dr. F. Kajzar as a chairman) was held in Val Thorens, France, in January, 1994, with more than 140 participants from 12 countries around the world. It was strongly recognized among participants during the conference that the direct exchange of newest experimental results and relevant ideas on nonlinear optics is an excellent way to promote this research field.

The following ICONO'2 (Chairman Professor Seizo Miyata, 1995, Kusatsu, Japan), ICONO’3 (Chairman Professor M. Kuzyk, 1996, Marco Island, USA), and ICONO’4 (Chairman Professor H. Sasabe, 1998, Chitose, Japan) were also very successful.

The objectives of ICONO'5 are to achieve international exchange of information and cooperation among researchers in academia, government laboratories, and industries, and to stimulate growth in the field of organic nonlinear optics.

The conference will be held in Davos, a ski resort in the eastern swiss alps, at the same congress center known for the annual meeting of the world economic forum.

Conference Scope

This conference will provide a forum for discussion of all aspects of nonlinear optics, e.g. new phenomena, novel optoelectronic devices, and advanced organic materials.

The following topics will be covered:

  • Fundamental studies
  • Novel molecular design and synthesis
  • Crystal growth of organics
  • Poled polymers for SHG and EO devices
  • Optical amplification, switchings, memories
  • Wave mixing and phase conjugation
  • Fibers and waveguides
  • Ultrafast nonlinear optics in organic materials
  • Photorefractive effects
  • NLO information storage
  • Novel nonlinear optical phenomena and applications
  • Optical parallel processing
  • Display applications (Organic Light-Emitting Diodes, Spatial Light Modulators)

Technical sessions

The organizing committee will schedule invited oral presentations and poster sessions for the contributed papers. Authors are requested to submit an abstract (100 words) by September 30, 1999, and an extended abstract (maximum 2 pages, A4 size) no later than November 15, 1999. More information will be made available with the second circular, to be issued in August 1999.

Since submitted papers are selected and classified on the basis of the abstract, the abstract should be as informative as possible. The organizing committee plans to upgrade a few contributed papers with most exciting new results to invited oral contributions.

Organizing Committees:

Conference Chair:

Peter Günter (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)


François Kajzar, European Chair (LETI, CEA, France)
Mark Kuzyk, American Chair (Washington State U., USA)
Hiroyuki Sasabe, Pacific Chair (RIKEN, Japan)

International Advisory Committee:

Fernando Agullo-Lopez (U. Madrid, Spain)
Werner Blau (Trinity College, Irland)
Donald C. Bradley (U. Sheffield, UK)
Christoph Bräuchle (U. Munich, Germany)
Jean-Luc Brédas ( U. Mons, Belgium)
Vittorio Degiorgio (U. Pavia, Italy)
Christos Flytzanis (Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau, France)
Toshikuni Kaino (Tohoku U., Japan)
Nak Joong Kim (KIST, Korea)
Takayoshi Kobayashi (Tokyo U., Japan)
Charles Lee (US AFOSR, USA)
Seth Marder (U. Arizona, USA)
Seizo Miyata (Tokyo U., Japan)
Hachiro Nakanishi ( Tohoku U., Japan)
André Persoons (U. Leuven, Belgium)
Nasser Peyghambarian (U. Arizona, USA)
Paras Prasad (State U. N.Y. Buffalo, USA)
Takatomo Sasaki (Osaka U., Japan)
Ron Shen (UC Berkeley, USA)
Ken Singer (Case Western Res. U., USA)
George I. Stegeman (U. Central Florida, USA)
Carlo Taliani (ISM-CNR, Italy)
Sukant Tripathy (Massachusetts U., USA)
Robert Twieg (Kent State U., USA)
Shinsuke Umegaki (Keio U., Japan)
Kenneth Wynne ( Office of Naval Res., USA)
Joseph Zyss (CNET, France)

Local Organizing Committee:

Ivan Biaggio (ETH), Conference Program and Information
Christian Bosshard (ETH), Secretary General
François Diederich (ETH)
Peter Günter (ETH), Conference Chair
Carolina Medrano (ETH), Treasurer
Germano Montemezzani (ETH), Local Arrangements
Ulrich Suter (ETH)

Time schedule:

Second Circular
100 words abstract
Extended Abstract (max 2 pages, A4 size)
August 15, 1999
September 30, 1999
November 15, 1999


Conference Secretariat
Christian Bosshard
Nonlinear Optics Laboratory
Institute of Quantum Electronics
ETH Hönggerberg, HPF E14
CH-8093 Zürich, Switzerland
Tel: +41-1-633-2329, Fax: +41-1-633-1056
e-mail: icono5@wntweb.ethz.ch
Home page: http://www.icono5.ethz.ch

To receive the 2nd Circular visit the ICONO'5 home page at http://www.icono5.ethz.ch and fill-in the on-line mailing-list subscription form.

ICONO5 WebMaster Nonlinear Optics Laboratory Institute of Quantum Electronics ETH Zürich
!!! Dieses Dokument stammt aus dem ETH Web-Archiv und wird nicht mehr gepflegt !!!
!!! This document is stored in the ETH Web archive and is no longer maintained !!!