ICONO'5 logo

5th International Conference on Organic Nonlinear Optics

March 12-16, 2000, Davos, Switzerland


ONO 2000 Tutorial

Subscribe to mailing list

First Circular

Second Circular

Final Circular

Extended Abstracts

Abstract Submission


Icono5 Secretariat

Contact Icono5

Organising Committees

Conference Scope


Conference Location
About Davos

Second Circular

PDF Version

Optical wave manipulation is one of the future technologies for optical processing and communication. Organic nonlinear optical materials are thought to have a key role in these technologies, and a lot of effort to develop new molecules/materials as well as fundamental understanding is under way through-out the world.

ICONO’5 is the fifth International Conference on Organic Nonlinear Optics, a conference series that was started in Val Thorens, France, in January 1994. It was recognized among conference participants that the direct exchange of newest experimental results and relevant ideas on nonlinear optics is an excellent way to promote this research field, and all following ICONO conferences have been very successful.

ICONO’5 will be held in March 2000 in Davos, a ski resort in the eastern swiss alps, at the same congress center which hosts the annual meeting of the world economic forum

Conference Scope and Objectives

ICONO’5 aims at achieving international exchange of information and cooperation among researchers in academia, government laboratories, and industries, and to stimulate growth in the field of organic nonlinear optics. It will provide a forum for discussion of all aspects of nonlinear optics, e.g. new phe-nomena, novel optoelectronic devices, and advanced organic materials. The organizing committee will schedule invited oral presentations and poster sessions for the contributed papers.

Abstract Submission

Authors are requested to submit a 100-words abstract by September 30, 1999, either by entering it on-line at http://www.icono5.ethz.ch/abstracts.html or by sending it to the Conference Secretariat.


  • Fundamental studies
  • Novel molecular design and synthesis
  • Crystal growth of organics
  • Poled polymers for Second Harmonic Generation and electro-optic devices
  • Optical amplification, switchings, memories
  • Wave mixing and phase conjugation
  • Fibers and waveguides
  • Ultrafast nonlinear optics in organic materials
  • Photorefractive effects
  • Nonlinear optical information storage
  • Novel nonlinear optical phenomena and applications
  • Optical parallel processing
  • Organic Light-Emitting Diodes
  • Spatial Light Modulators

Invited Speakers

Gian Piero Banfi (U. Pavia, Italy)
Bertram Batlogg (Lucent Technologies, USA)
Christoph Bubeck (MPI Mainz, Germany)
Jean-Luc Brédas (U. Arizona, USA)
Larry Dalton (U. Southern California, USA)
Christos Flytzanis (Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau, France)
Dietrich Haarer (Bayer AG, Germany)
Alan Heeger (U. California, USA)
Hiromasa Ito (Tohoku U., Japan)
Toshikuni Kaino (Tohoku U., Japan)
François Kajzar, (LETI, CEA, France)
Norbert Karl (U. Stuttgart, Germany)
Nakjoong Kim (KIST, Korea)
Takayoshi Kobayashi (Tokyo U., Japan)
Mark G. Kuzyk, (Washington State U., USA)
Kwang-Sup Lee (Hannam U., Korea)
Seth Marder (U. Arizona, USA)
Klaus Meerholz (U. Munich, Germany)
Hans Melchior (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
Hachiro Nakanishi ( Tohoku U., Japan)
Jean-Michel Nunzi (LETI, CEA, France)
André Persoons (U. Leuven, Belgium)
Nasser Peyghambarian (U. Arizona, USA)
Takatomo Sasaki (Osaka U., Japan)
Martin Schadt (Rolic Research, Basel, Switzerland)
Markus Schwoerer (U. Bayreuth, Germany)
Ron Y. Shen (UC Berkeley, USA)
Ken Singer (Case Western Res. U., USA)
George I. Stegeman (U. Central Florida, USA)
Robert Twieg (Kent State U., USA)
Tatsuo Wada, (RIKEN, Japan)
William L. Wilson (Lucent Technologies, USA)
Xi-Cheng Zhang (Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, USA)
Joseph Zyss (CNET, France)

Registration Fees:

Before January 15, 2000After January 15, 2000
Normal520 CHF620 CHF
Students260 CHF350 CHF

Important Dates and Deadlines:

100 Words Abstract

September 30, 1999

Since submitted papers are selected and classified on the basis of the abstract, the abstract should be as informative as possible. The organizing committee plans to upgrade a few contributed papers with most exciting new results to invited oral contributions. Please submit your abstract using the on-line form found at the conference web-site at http://www.icono5.ethz.ch/abstracts.html.

Final Circular and
Notification of Acceptance

October 30, 1999

The Final Circular will come with Hotel Reservation Forms, Conference Registration Forms, and Advanced Program. All authors who submitted an abstract by September 30 will also be notified if their contribution was accepted, and receive instructions for preparing and sub-mitting the Extended Abstract..

Extended Abstract

November 26. 1999

The “Extended Abstract” must consist of at most 2 A4-pages, and will be distributed to conference participants. More precise instructions for its preparation will appear in the final circular.


January 15, 2000

The discounted registration fee is only available for participants registering before this dead-line.

Hotel Reservation Form

January 15, 2000


Conference Secretariat
Christian Bosshard
Nonlinear Optics Laboratory
Institute of Quantum Electronics
ETH Hönggerberg, HPF E14
CH-8093 Zürich, Switzerland
Tel: +41-1-633-2329, Fax: +41-1-633-1056
e-mail: icono5@wntweb.ethz.ch
Home page: http://www.icono5.ethz.ch

Organizing Committees:

Peter Günter (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)

Conference Chair:

Peter Günter (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)


François Kajzar, European Chair (LETI, CEA, France)
Mark Kuzyk, American Chair (Washington State U., USA)
Hiroyuki Sasabe, Pacific Chair (RIKEN, Japan)

International Advisory Committee:

Fernando Agullo-Lopez (U. Madrid, Spain)
Werner Blau (Trinity College, Irland)
Donald C. Bradley (U. Sheffield, UK)
Christoph Bräuchle (U. Munich, Germany)
Jean-Luc Brédas ( U. Mons, Belgium)
Vittorio Degiorgio (U. Pavia, Italy)
Christos Flytzanis (Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau, France)
Toshikuni Kaino (Tohoku U., Japan)
Nak Joong Kim (KIST, Korea)
Takayoshi Kobayashi (Tokyo U., Japan)
Charles Lee (US AFOSR, USA)
Seth Marder (U. Arizona, USA)
Seizo Miyata (Tokyo U., Japan)
Hachiro Nakanishi ( Tohoku U., Japan)
André Persoons (U. Leuven, Belgium)
Nasser Peyghambarian (U. Arizona, USA)
Paras Prasad (State U. N.Y. Buffalo, USA)
Takatomo Sasaki (Osaka U., Japan)
Ron Shen (UC Berkeley, USA)
Ken Singer (Case Western Res. U., USA)
George I. Stegeman (U. Central Florida, USA)
Carlo Taliani (ISM-CNR, Italy)
Sukant Tripathy (Massachusetts U., USA)
Robert Twieg (Kent State U., USA)
Shinsuke Umegaki (Keio U., Japan)
Kenneth Wynne ( Office of Naval Res., USA)
Joseph Zyss (CNET, France)

Local Organizing Committee:

Ivan Biaggio (ETH), Conference Program and Information
Christian Bosshard (ETH), Secretary General
François Diederich (ETH)
Peter Günter (ETH), Conference Chair
Carolina Medrano (ETH), Treasurer
Germano Montemezzani (ETH), Local Arrangements
Ulrich Suter (ETH)

To submit an abstract go to http://www.icono5.ethz.ch and fill-in the on-line abstract submission form. If yo are not submitting a contribution, but would still like to participate in the conference, subscribe to the ICONO'5 Mailing list to receive further conference-related news.

ICONO5 WebMaster Nonlinear Optics Laboratory Institute of Quantum Electronics ETH Zürich
!!! Dieses Dokument stammt aus dem ETH Web-Archiv und wird nicht mehr gepflegt !!!
!!! This document is stored in the ETH Web archive and is no longer maintained !!!